Background Information on French cinema and related topics - its history, individual films or directors, a film theory or concept, a particular genre - as well as extensive bibliographies of books and journal articles, can be found using the information provided in the resources below. Note: The Schirmer Encyclopedia and the International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers have not been updated since the date(s) indicated. To find the most recently published books on French cinema, see Finding Books (tab). Reminder: The reference items below do not themselves count as sources for your bibliography.

French Cinema (Oxford Bibliographies Online - 2011) Annotated bibliography. French Cinema section includes a short introduction followed by substantial book & journal bibliographies on all aspects of the history of French cinema. Entries on directors include a section on Pioneers (Lumière Brothers, Méliès, Alice Guy, Emile Cohl, Musidora/Feuillade), and on the "canonical" figures of  the 1930s -1980s: Jean Renoir, Marcel Carné, Robert Bresson, Jean-Luc Godard, François Truffaut, Luc Besson. 'Pioneers' bibliographies are selective and limited to one item; entries on the others are more substantial. Other related major entries include Agnes Varda, Auteurism, Gilles Deleuze, Andre Bazin, Surrealism and Film, Jean Cocteau, Claire Denis, Chris Marker, Max Ophuls, and more.

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film (latest update 2007). Enter france in the searchbox. The main entry provides an overview of the history of French cinema, as well as a bibliography. Topic entries related to French cinema include: Surrealism, Auteur Theory and Authorship, individual directors (e.g., Carne, Marcel) and films (e.g., Les enfants terribles). Other areas covered include production, national traditions, studios, critical theory and film history, and many more.

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers (latest update 2001) - Provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies, ...

French Cinema: A Bibliography of Books and Articles in the UC Berkeley Libraries  Extensive and in most cases up-to-date bibliographies of books and journal articles on French film in general (incl. works on individual film makers, and reviews & articles on individual films), as well as on Avant-garde and Experimental Film (for early works of French avant-garde, incl. Works about Individual Filmmakers) and Dada and Surrealist Film. Check UTCat (by title or author) for local availability.

Directory of World Cinema: France Ebook

from Wiley-Blackwell Online

• A Companion to Contemporary French Cinema
• A Companion to Jean-Luc Godard
• A companion to Francois Truffaut
• A companion to Jean Renoir