This table lists the eBook platforms, as well as the many eBooks collections from specific publishers, available at University of Toronto Libraries. Click on the link to be brought directly to the eBook platform or collection.
Definitions:
DRM (digital rights management): "the control or protection of digital rights using various technologies to prevent unauthorized access, copying, etc." (OED Online. March 2013. Oxford University Press)
In the case of eBooks with DRM, the eBook file can only be accessed by the authorized user, and the file cannot be shared. The eBook can expire/delete itself after a certain number of days, as determined by the publisher.
Multidisciplinary: covers a range of subjects/disciplines from humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
*Platform: contains eBooks from different publishers.
| Collection | Subject | Download entire book? |
Download or print PDF of a chapter? |
Notes |
| ABC-CLIO eBook Collection | History & social science reference titles |
No |
Can print sections of text, or email. PDF downloads not available |
|
| Books 24x7 | IT, science, engineering |
No | No |
1. Can only read online |
| Books@Ovid | Health, medicine | No | Can print sections/definitions, PDF downloads not available |
Not all books listed in collection are available via UTL |
| Cambridge Books Online (Cambridge University Press) |
Multidisciplinary | No | Yes | Only titles with  'Puchased Access' icon can be accessed |
| ebrary (*platform) | Multidisciplinary | Yes DRM applies |
Yes |
1. Must create ebrary account 2. Bluefire reader app is recommended for viewing ebrary content on mobile devices. |
|
EBSCOhost ebook collection |
Multidisciplinary | No | Yes |
# of pages for printing/downloading |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library | Multidisciplinary | No | Yes | |
| IEEE Xplore | Engineering | No | Yes | Not all books listed in collection are available with UTL's subscription |
|
IGI Global |
Multidisciplinary | No | Yes | |
| Knovel | Biotechnology, engineering, food science |
No | Yes | |
| My iLibrary (*platform) |
Multidisciplinary | No | Yes |
Limit of page #s for printing/downloading determined by publisher, usually: |
| Oxford Reference Online | Multidisciplinary | No | Can print sections/definitions PDF downloads not available |
Not all books/entries listed in collection are available with UTL's subscription |
| Oxford Scholarship Online | Multidisciplinary | No | Yes | After searching by keyword or topic, use the 'Narrow Your Choices' box on the left-hand side to limit to 'Full Text' |
| Palgrave | Multidisciplinary | Yes in PDF or EPUB, unrestricted |
Yes | Note the coloured locks: Green = full access Yellow = limited access (only a few chapters available) Red = no access to title via UTL |
| Sage Knowledge Books & Reference | Multidisciplinary, most titles are for social sciences or reference | No | Yes | Only titles without the lock icon have chapter downloads available |
| Sage Research Methods | Social sciences, health sciences | No | Yes |
Collection includes encyclopedia and dictionary entries. To limit to books, click on 'Content' and select 'Books' from the drop-down menu |
| Scholars Portal Books (*platform) | Multidisciplinary | Yes | Yes | SP has titles that can be borrowed for up to 72 hours. Refer to the FAQ on how to download these select titles. |
| ScienceDirect | Engineering, science, social sciences | No | Yes | Click 'Show full-text available' on the left for a list of items that can be downloaded |
| Springer | Multidisciplinary | No | Yes | Use the 'Refine Your Search' on the left side after browsing or searching a keyword to select 'Books' |
| Taylor & Francis eBooks | Multidisciplinary | Yes in PDF, for any book that has 'Full Access' |
Yes printing only |
1. Chapters cannot be downloaded in separate files 2. When searching for a book using keywords, click the 'Full access only' box to receive results UTL has purchased. |
| Wiley Online Library | Multidisciplinary | No | Yes |
1. Unlocked padlock icon beside the chapter 2. Use the Filter List on the right-hand side while searching/browsing, and under 'Publication Type' select 'Books'. |
indicates UTL has full-text access to the eBook