Skip to main content

VIC 224Y: Introduction to Material Culture

A guide to resources for VIC 224Y: Introduction to Material Culture

Image Databases

ARTstor

A digital library of approximately 550,000 digital images in the areas of art, architecture and the humanities and social sciences.  The user can set up an account in order to save or share images with others.

British Museum Collection Database

Descriptions and images of objects held in the British Museum. The British Museum Collection database includes records for the Museum's collections of objects from Africa; the Americas; central, east, south and southeast Asia; ancient Egypt and Sudan; Europe; ancient Greece and Rome; Oceania; prehistory, and prints, drawings and other works of flat art from all over the world. The database contains records for more than 1.7 million objects, with new records and images added every week as work on the database continues. When complete, it will contain a record of every object in the Museum collection.

The New York Public Library Picture Collection Online

More than 30,000 digitized images from books and magazines, as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mainly created before 1923.

Musee d'Orsay

Collections of more than 76,000 works of art from the period 1848 to 1914 held in the national and multidisciplinary Musee d'Orsay, Paris, France. The Museum's Collections consist of photographs, architecture and decorative arts, paintings, sculpture, medals, art objects, and pastels. Works in the Collections Index can be searched by artist, discipline, represented place, character represented, and place of conservation.

Oxford Art Online

Allows a search of Grove Art online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Enyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as images in any of these titles.