Skip to main content

VIC 224Y: Introduction to Material Culture

A guide to resources for VIC 224Y: Introduction to Material Culture

Search for journal articles in JSTOR

E-Resources: Indexes & Abstracts

Anthropology Plus

A subject specific database that contains highly specialized and scholarly articles, conference papers and essays in books, within the fields of Archaeology and Anthropology.

 Art Full Text

A major database for art, Art Abstracts is especially useful because it is selective rather than comprehensive in coverage and because it focuses on major English language journals. It offers broad coverage of fine, decorative and commercial art for students, educators, curators, art historians, and art lovers. A unique feature of the database is the indexing of art reproductions to help researchers focus on a single artist or find individual works.

Historical Abstracts & America: History and Life

A major source for both European and North American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. It is an excellent resource for research in the fields of: European, American and Canadian history, popular culture, American studies, women's studies/gender studies, multicultural studies, and politics among other fields of study.

Humanities Abstracts

Similar in subject coverage as Humanities International Index above, but the scope is that of North American humanities journals.

 

Humanities International Index

Covers literary, scholarly, and humanities journals. Humanities Abstracts indexes articles, essays and reviews.

Proquest

A multidisciplinary database; coverage will vary according to the sources contained within the database; international in scope; may require limiting by languages;some citations link to full-text articles in e-journals licensed to U of T.