Skip to main content

Bora Laskin Law Library Guide to Finding Law Journals and Journal Articles

Westlaw, LexisNexis, HeinOnline

  • Offers comprehensive full-text coverage of U.S. and Canadian material
  • Available to UofT law students only via the Bora Laskin Law Library
LexisNexis QuickLaw
  • Comprehensive full-text coverage of Canadian and international material
  • Available to UofT law students only via the Bora Laskin Law Library
  • Also provides comprehensive full-text coverage of Canadian and international material
  • Available online through UTL
  • Comprehensive full-text coverage of more than 1600 law and law-related periodicals
  • Available online through UTL

More Databases

Social Science Research Network (Legal Scholarship Network)

  • Repository of academic papers, working papers, and draft papers in the social sciences. Strong collection of law related papers. Very good source for recent academic unpublished papers.
  • The “Legal Scholarship Network” is a collection of current research in a shared research database that is updated almost daily. Though not peer-reviewed, these articles are often academic working papers and most are eventually published in scholarly legal journals. Many are free to the public in PDF format.

Free Full-text Online Law Review/Law Journal Search Engine (ABA Legal Technology Resource Center)

  • Search over 300 online law reviews and law journals, as well as document repositories (e.g., SSRN and bepress) and related publications such as Congressional Research Service reports.

Google Scholar (check box next to legal opinions and journals)

  • After limiting your search to legal opinions and journals, enter your terms & search (used the Advanced Scholar Search if you are searching for a specific author or publication or to limit your articles to a date range). Note that you may limit your result list to Articles & Patents, Articles excluding patents, federal cases or California cases (use drop-down box at the top of the result list).

University Law Review Project

  • May search full-text or browse journals by topic. Also provides a free abstract email service. The site is provided by FindLaw and the Coalition of Online Journals, with assistance from Verity, the Australasian Legal Information Institute, the Legal Information Institute (Cornell), Stanford University, Jurist, and others.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

  • May browse a list of journals by subject. Law includes 77 journals as of December 14, 2009. May search by journal title or search for articles (click on "Find Article" link).

Open J-Gate

  • The law journals are under "Social & Management Sciences" which you may browse (by selecting "Browse by Subject"). As of Dec. 14, 2000, there were 294 law-related journals available on this site.

 

 Adapted fromOnline Legal Research: Beyond LexisNexis & Westlaw   by Hugh & Hazel Darling Library, UCLA School of Law 

Using Google Scholar Off-Campus

How To Get Your Journal Articles Free From Google Scholar


The University of Toronto Libraries have licensed thousands of online journals so that you can use them for free as a member of the UofT community. Configure Google Scholar to know that you are a member of the UofT community:

  1. Click here to go to Google Scholar
  2. Click Scholar Preferences
  3. Under Library Links, type University of Toronto
  4. Click Find Library
  5. Click the box, University of Toronto Libraries - Get It! U of Toronto
  6. Click Save Preferences
  7. If the item is available at UofT, you will see check for print at UofT in your Google Scholar search results.

If you are on campus, Google Scholar will automatically configure itself properly. You only need to follow the above steps if you are OFF-CAMPUS.