Skip to main content

Criminology and Sociolegal Studies

Canadian Statistics

To access a broad range of criminal justice data and statistics, visit the Statistics Canada website, CANSIM and odesi

Statistics Canada
Statistics Canada's Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics is the primary source of statistical information on crime and criminal justice in Canada. Statistical data are derived from a series of surveys conducted by the CCJS.  For example the Uniform Crime Reporting Survey and the Homicide Survey are the two main surveys submitted to Statistics Canada by all Canadian police agencies, detailing criminal activity that comes to the attention of the police. Similar surveys are submitted by all courts and correctional institutions in the provinces and territories.

NOTE: Most Statistics Canada publications are available on the web, free of charge

Browse by Subject:

  • Click  the Browse by Subject tab and select Crime and Justice
  • Access links to publications organized by broad subject area

CANSIM (Canadian socio-economic information management system) is Statistics Canada's online library of time series covering multiple facets of social and economic life in Canada. CANSIM allows you to select and manipulate data, generate customized tables and spreadsheets, save your data in comma delimited form to a database, or download it to statistics programs, e.g., SPSS or SAS.

  • You can access CANSIM using the Browse by Subject tab, selecting Crime and Justice, choosing a Subtopic (e.g., Crimes and offences), then clicking Detailed tables from CANSIM
  • Alternatively, you can choose Browse by key resource, choose CANSIM, then drill down through Crime and justice to CANSIM by Subject
  • Once you've selected your subtopic (e.g., Crimes and offences) and accessed your table, (e.g., Incident-based crime statistics, by detailed violations), you can add/remove and manipulate data to create custom tables

CHASS

  • CANSIM can also be accessed from the CHASS website
  • Drill down (start with CANSIM Multidimensional View) until you access the data tables (CANSIM Multidimensional @CHASS Main Menu > Browse tables by subjects > Crime and justice)
  • Once you've accessed a list of tables (e.g., Crimes and offences), use olap view or by dimension to generate your custom tables
  • Olap view also offers a series of tutorials 

Search the Statistics Canada website:

  • Type your keywords in the search box at the top right of the screen
  • Your results screen provides filter options to the left of the screen as well as a link to the Advanced search page

Juristat

  • Statistics Canada's primary source for crime and criminal justice statistics.  Published approximately 8 times per year, Juristat produces, on an annual basis, statistics on crime, homicide, youth and adult courts and corrections, and shelters for abused women.
  • Juristat also regularly publishes thematic issues on such topics as female offenders, impaired driving, sexual offences, and hate crime
  • Juristat is available electronically, free of charge, from v.16, no.10 (196) onwards.  Earlier issues ar available in print at the Criminology Library

Criminal Victimization in Canada

Provides a statistical analysis, with tables and graphs, of the results of the 2009 General Social Survey, Cycle 23 on criminal victimization. Victimization statistics provide a more complete picture of crime statistics, by accounting for criminal incidents not reported to the police.

Toronto Police Service Public Safety Data Portal

Provides detailed data and statistics on major crimes categories (e.g., homicide, robbery, theft, assault, break and enter), and traffic incidents and infractions.

United States Statistics

FBI Uniform Crime Reports

The Uniform Crime Reporting Program, administered by the FBI, collects and publishes data on crimes reported to the police from nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies in the U.S. Its major annual publication, Crime in the United States, produces comprehensive crime statistics on the national, state and local level.

Other annual publications include Hate Crime Statistics and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted.

The UCR Program also produces the National Incident-Based Reporting System.

NOTE: Crime in the United States is available in print at the Centre of Criminology Library

United States Dept. of Justice - Bureau of Justice Statistics

This website provides exhaustive coverage of crime and victimization statistics, as well as statistics on all phases of the criminal justice process: law enforcement, courts and sentencing, and corrections. The BJS is a prolific publisher of statistical reports, highlighted by its flagship publication, Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics.

The Sourcebook is available in print at the Centre of Criminology Library

Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics)

The Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center collects detailed information about suspects and defendants processed through the U.S. federal criminal justice system. Visitors to this website can generate statistical tables for each stage of the justice process (law enforcement, prosecution, and incarceration) by selecting from lists of variables.

Example: Defendants charged in criminal cases:

Select:
1) year
2) filing offense
3) violent, property, drug offenses, etc.

Tables can be generated in HTML, EXCEL, CSV, Chart or PDF formats. Users can also download data directly into statistics programs.

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data

Hosted at the University of Michigan, the NACJD was established in 1978 as a special topic archive of the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. It offers a library of approximately 1,200 data sets, which users can download into statistics programs for research and data analysis.

Check out the  NACJD Video Tutorials

National Crime Victimization Survey

The NCVS was introduced in 1972 for the purpose of gathering statistics on the following crimes: assault, burglary, larceny, motor vehicle theft, rape, and robbery. Unanticipated findings of the survey revealed that many crimes are not reported to the police. The NCVS therefore plays a significant role in providing a more complete picture of the incidence of crime in the U.S.

U.K. Statistics

Home Office. Crime Statistics

A comprehensive collection of UK crime statistics.

U.K. Ministry of Justice Statistics

This page covers every phase of the criminal justice process, providing links to statistics on courts and sentencing, prison and probation, and reoffending.

International Statistics

UNODC (United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime)

Links to the UN Crime and Criminal Justice System Surveys and Crime Victim Surveys. Check out additional links under Data and Analysis