Skip to main content

Criminology and Sociolegal Studies

Book Reviews

The following list of resources, with the exception of Book Review Index, Summon/Onesearch, is drawn primarily from the Find Articles section.  Each resource includes instructions for accessing book reviews.


Book Review Index Online

Go to Advanced Search to search on a combination of fields, e.g., author, title, reviewer

Summon/OneSearch

If you know the publication title, select the "search by title" checkbox and enter the title in the search box.  On the following page, click on the "View all ... articles from Summon" link.  Choose Book Review under Format on the Results page.  You can also find book reviews by performing a keyword search.

Criminal Justice Abstracts (Available through EbscoHost)

From the Advanced Search page, type in author, keywords or publication title.  From the Document Type box, select Book Review.

ProQuest

From the Advanced Search screen, type in author, keywords or publication title and choose Review under Document type.

Sociological Abstracts (Available through ProQuest)

From the Advanced Search screen, type in author, keywords or publication title and choose Book Review under Document type.

Social Sciences Abstracts (Available through EBSCOhost)

From the Advanced Search screen, type in author, keywords or publication title and select Book Review from the Document Type drop-down menu.

Social Sciences Citation Index

From one of the drop down menus, select Document type, then Book Review from the menu that pops up in the search box.  From the remaining drop down menu(s), make selections according to your search parameters, e.g., Topic, Title, Publication Name (i.e., the journal in which the book review is published), and type in your search terms.

PLEASE NOTE:  Title finds book reviews for specific works, as well as for authors, e.g., to find reviews on books by zimring, you must select TitleAuthor searches for the authors of books reviews.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (Available through ProQuest)

From the Advanced Search screen, type in author, keywords or publication title and choose Review under Record type.

Social Services Abstracts (Available through ProQuest)

From the Advanced Search screen, type in author, keywords or publication title and choose Book Review under Document type.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective (Available through EBSCOhost)

From the Advanced Search screen, type in author, keywords or publication title and select Book Review from the Document Type drop-down menu.

Index to Canadian Legal Literature (Available through Westlaw Canada)

From the search page, type in your title, subject, or keyword search terms, then select Book Reviews only from the By Document Type menu.

Canadian Periodical Index. CPI.Q (Available through Gale)

From the Advanced search screen, type in your search terms, then select Book review from the by document type menu.

Contemporary Women's Issues (Available through Gale)

From the search screen, type in your search terms, then select Book Review from the Article Type drop-down menu.

Gender Studies Database (Available through EBSCOHost)

From the Advanced Search page, type in author, keywords or publication title.  From the Document Type box, select Book Review.

Business Abstracts (Available through EBSCOhost)

From the Advanced Search screen, type in author, keywords or publication title and select Book Review from the Document Type drop-down menu.

General Science Abstracts (Available through EBSCOhost)

From the Advanced Search screen, type in author, keywords or publication title and select Book Review from the Document Type drop-down menu.