Research guides: ANT368 World Religions and Ecology: Finding Journal Articles

Databases Specializing in Religions and Spirituality

At UofT we have a variety of specialized databases designed to help you find scholarly journal articles on your topic. In this list you will find databases addressing specific religious traditions (Index Islamicus or New Testament Abstracts) as well as databases casting a broader net (ProQuest Religion).

America: History and Life is one of our better resources for researching Native traditions.

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, and religion in issues such as environmental and ecological thought. Contains more than one million records covering the research literature of religion in 35 languages. Compiled by the American Theological Library Association. As there may be little full-text linking, use the Article Finder located on this page.

Religious and Theological Abstracts
Provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology. Coverage includes journals in the fields of Christian, Jewish, Islamic, and other world religions.

FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
FRANCIS covers religious traditions, art history, philosophy, archeology, sociology and literature of all world cultures. Published by Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), a unit of the French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS).

Index of Articles on Jewish Studies (RAMBI)
A major comprehensive index to articles in the various fields of Jewish Studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in RAMBI, also known as Reshimat ma'amarim be-mada'e ha-yahadut in Hebrew, is compiled from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world centre for research on the Jewish people.

Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present. Compiled by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts.

Databases Specializing in Environmental Research

In this list you will find databases addressing environmental issues from a variety of perspectives. Resources such as Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management will let you explore core environmental issues from many sides, and unique government document indexes such as Policy File and GreenFILE will help you get rare glimpes behind the scenes of environment-altering decisions.

Please keep in mind that interdisciplinary science databases like Scopus and Web of Science can help thorougly expose the science, but without delving into philosophical or spiritual implications.

GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
Major database for physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines. GEOBASE covers world wide research literature.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers many aspects of human impact on the environment. GreenFILE offers a collection of scholarly, government and general interest titles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
CAB Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, human health and nutrition, animal health, management and conservation of natural resources. Publications from over 150 countries in 50 languages are abstracted.
Canadian Research Index This link opens in a new window
Major index for Canadian federal, provincial and territorial government publications. Canadian Research Index allows users to identify Canadian government information for business and research, or for informed and active participation in community activities.

PolicyFile
Offers access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies. Covers all foreign and domestic policy papers produced by almost 400 nongovernmental agencies, research institutes, and think tanks in the United States.
Scopus
Major multidisciplinary database for the social sciences, life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus covers research literature published in academic journals, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series.

Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
A major multidisciplinary database. Web of Science consists of the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Science Citation Index and the Social Sciences Citation Index.

Interdisciplinary and Multidisciplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary databases will offer many perspectives. BAS will offer Asian insights on environmental or spiritual issues while IBSS will cover ethical and cultural ramifications. Please note that the first three databases on the list include the Native American perspective.

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Covers the history, life and culture of North America’s indigenous peoples. A research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal and medical researchers, linguists, theologians, ethnobotanists, and policy makers interested in issues surrounding native peoples. Compiled by the Human Relations Area Files at Yale University.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Major source for United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present, including Native studies.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Coverage is broad and covers academic information, business, social sciences, the arts, science, and current events in Canada, including aboriginal issues.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Covers literary, scholarly, and creative humanities journals in interdisciplinary fields, including religious, philosophical and environmental studies. Indexes the journal "Worldviews."
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Covers anthropology, economics, politics and sociology, as well as related subjects such as development studies, human geography and environment, and gender and sexuality.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides a uniquely broad and extensive resource for research in anthropology and related fields. Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Record of research and scholarly literature on Asia written in Western languages. Covers countries and civilizations of East, Southeast and South Asia, and overseas Asian communities in North America, Europe and elsewhere in the world. It is produced by the Association for Asian Studies.