Research guides: Classical Studies Resources @ UTSC: Home

Quick Links

Classics Course Guides

Resources for Classical Studies

Find Articles

L'Année Philologique The primary database for classical studies. L'Année Philologique provides information on the history, language, literature, and civilization of ancient Greece and Rome from 500 BCE to 800.

JSTOR: A large multidisciplinary database which includes many full-text e-journals.

ATLA Religion Database : The major international index for religion, ATLA covers all scholarly fields of religious study.

British Humanities Index : Covers journals, as well as some books and other important reference sources. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 2,000 titles.

Humanities International Index: The most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Abstracts collects abstracts and citations of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.

Find Books

Find books by searching in the Library Search and limiting the format to Books by using the drop-down menu.

Image of Library Search with format drop-down menu options showing and Books option highlighted.

Pertinent call numbers and ranges:

B 108-708 Philosophy, Ancient
D 51-95 Ancient History
DF 10-289 Greece-History
DG 11-365 Italy--History--to 476
DG 61-69 Rome--History
JC 51-93 Greece--politics and government
ML 162-169 Music, Greek and Roman
PA 3050-4505 Greek literature
PA 6000-6971 Roman literature
PN 611-649 Literature of the Ancient World

More UofT Library Resources

Classical Studies Research Guide

UTL Classical Studies Resources

Print and Electronic Resources for Locating and Studying Classical Texts

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Classics - Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
Comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world, including Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman, from the Bronze Age to the 5th century CE
Includes the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
Comprehensive coverage of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology
Includes subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, gender, anthropology, and ecology
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
Drawing on the latest edition of the highly praised Oxford Classical Dictionary, the Companion offers articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Ancient History
The Encyclopedia of Ancient History is the only comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world. It contains over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt, and represent an unprecedented level of coverage of the ancient world.
Who's Who in the Classical World
Focusing exclusively on real people, this is a dictionary of ancient biography, covering Greek and Roman history and politics, literature, philosophy, science, and art. Shorter entries provide lucid factual accounts, while the longer entries are short essays covering major historical and cultural themes in antiquity, centred round individuals as varied as Herodotus, Socrates, Plato, Alexander the Great, and Augustus.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
A current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. It features an abundance of in-depth articles on this field of enduring importance—from biographies to thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture.
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World
English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, an encyclopedia of the ancient world
Part One: Antiquity covers Greco-Roman antiquity, spanning more than 2000 years of history from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe
Part Two: Classical Tradition covers the aftermath of antiquity, and the process of reinterpretation and revaluation of ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship

Specialized Resources

Classics Journal Title Abbreviations
A good listing of common journal abbreviations in Classical Studies. Very helpful when using L'Année Philologique. Use control-F to find what you need.
Perseus Project
Digital collection of primary and secondary resources related to Classical Studies.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
This site contains hundreds of texts of English translations of primary sources in ancient history. It also contains links to other sites containing texts and visuals.
Use menu on left to navigate. Some broken links because website is old. If it says 2nd, it is a secondary source.
Beazley Archive Pottery Database (BAPD)
Includes the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery
Ancient World Image Bank
Institute for the Study of the Ancient World, NYU collaborative effort to distribute and encourage the sharing of free digital imagery for the study of the ancient world.
Digital Atlas of the Roman Empire (DARE)
The locations of settlements, roads, structures of other types, bodies of water, and natural land features are mapped, with distinctive designations for partial and reconstructed names, sites known only by their modern names, uncertain locations, and so forth.
Odysseus Portal (Greek Ancient History)
Contains information and images from museums, monuments and archaeological sites in Greece, as well as special events or projects for Greek history, such as Ancient Olympic Games and the Return of sculptures of Parthenon.
Digital Collections of the Ministry of Culture and Sports (Greece)
Artifacts from Public Hellenic Museums dating from early antiquity to the present.

Writing & Citations

UTSC Writing Support helps students learn to become better writers through a variety of services:

One-on-one tutoring
Writing retreats
Writing and citing: Files, resources, and tips
FAQs

Also check these pages for more helpful links and resources:

Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide
A website guiding you through the citation process for your research papers. Always ensure to ask your professors which style guide is required for your work.

Assignment Planner

Assignment Planner
The Assignment Planner breaks down various projects into manageable steps based on your due dates. Each step includes hints and "how-to" links. You can also add each step to your calendar using button "Add to Calendar" .

Academic Advising & Career Centre

The AA&CC is here to support your academic and career success! They can help you:

develop your academic plan and study skills strategies, including time management and exam preparation
explore career, employment, and further education options and put your career plans in to action

Check out our website at utsc.utoronto.ca/aacc, drop by in person at AC213 or call us at (416) 287-7561.

Classical Studies Resources @ UTSC

Ask Chat

April 8–April 26

April 29–August 2

Need help? Contact your Liaison Librarian