Research guides: Women's & Gender Studies Resources @ UTSC: Encyclopedias & Background Research

Encyclopedias & Background Research

The print books listed below prioritize those physically located in the UTSC Library.

The Routledge companion to feminism and postfeminism [electronic resource] by Gamble, Sarah
Publication Date: 2001
Routledge international encyclopedia of women: global women's issues and knowledge (online & in printed form) by Edited by Cheris Kramarae & Dale Spender
A 4 volume e-encyclopedia (organized alphabetically):
Vol. 1 Ability - Education
Vol. 2 Education - Hypertension
Vol. 3 Identity Politics - Publishing
Vol. 4 Quakers - Zionism (+ entire Index)
Women's studies encyclopedia by edited by Helen Tierney
Call Number: HQ1115 .W645 1999 V.1
Publication Date: 1999
Fifty key concepts in gender studies by Jane Pilcher and Imelda Whelehan.
Call Number: HQ1180 .P55 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories [electronic resource].
Note: this e-encyclopedia has been split into sections, you'll be taken to a database search interface, but you can search for a theory or a feminist theorist and it will come up.
Handbook of feminist research : theory and praxis by edited by Sharlene Nagy Hesse-Biber
Call Number: HQ1180 .H35 2007
Women's studies : a guide to information sources by Sarah Carter and Maureen Ritchie
Call Number: HQ1180 .C37 1990
Publication Date: 1990
Note the publication date; this means it's a guide to women's studies information from before 1991
Gender : key concepts in philosophy by Tina Chanter
Call Number: HQ1190 .C46 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Imagining transgender : an ethnography of a category (online/e-book) by David Valentine
Call Number: HQ77.7
Publication Date: 2007
Rights of women : a guide to the most important United Nations treaties on women's human rights
Call Number: K644 .R54 1998 SCAR
Publication Date: 1998
Handbook of gender and women's studies [electronic resource] by Kathy Davis, Mary Evans, and Judith Lorber
Publication Date: 2006

Women's & Gender Studies Resources @ UTSC

Encyclopedias & Background Research

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us