Skip to main content

Searching the literature: a guide for nurses

Request for assistance guidelines

Please ensure that you have gone through the Comprehensive searching guide, prior to starting your search in the databases and requesting assistance. Priority will be given to students who follow the request parameters. Email this form to: ask.gerstein@utoronto.ca

This form is also meant as a guideline or check list; if you follow these steps, you are on your way to a successful search.

You can download this form below:

Preview of assistance guidelines

Below is a preview of what the form look like and requires to give you an idea of what you need to think about and fill in:

Please fill out the following form in order to request a 1-on-1 consultation with Nursing liaison librarian.

Name:

Search Question:



 

What are the distinct, searchable concepts in your question? Use PICO, PICOT, PIE, or concept mapping to help identify the concepts within your question.

 

Concept 1 (ie. P)

Concept 2 (ie. I)

Concept 3 (ie. C)

Concept 4 (ie. O)






 

What synonyms can you think identify for each concept? Use the chart below as a template.

Note: Remember that “synonyms” can be simple, like car/automobile or complex, like Long-term patient-reported satisfaction after contralateral prophylactic mastectomy/Surviving breast cancer: women’s experiences with their changed bodies. Think broadly and abstractly.

 

Concept 1 (ie. P)

Concept 2 (ie. I)

Concept 3 (ie. C)

Concept 4 (ie. O)



OR

OR

OR

OR



OR

OR

OR

OR



 

What databases will/have you use to conduct your search (identify at least 2) and why:

 

Database Name

ex. PsycINFO

Rationale

Ex. Subject coverage on addiction component of search question







 

What subject headings have you identified (either from mapping your keyword onto a subject heading, searching the database thesaurus, or harvesting subject headings from relevant articles) for each concept? Identify what database each subject heading comes from.

 

Concept 1 (ie. P)

AND

Concept 2 (ie. I)

AND

Concept 3 (ie. C)

AND

Concept 4 (ie. O)



OR

OR

OR

OR



OR

OR

OR

OR



OR

OR

OR

OR



OR

OR

OR

OR



 

Compare your list of synonyms and subject headings. Is there any overlap? What will you search as subject headings? What will you search as keywords?

Try out your search in the databases you identified. Remember your Boolean Operators!

Paste a screen shot of your search strategy of the database(s) you searched:

Examine your results.

What do you notice?

Are you getting too many results? Too few?

Did you retrieve any relevant results?

Look at the complete reference for any relevant result. Did you miss any subject headings:

Do you need to add those to your search?