Skip to main content

Slavic and East European Resources

This guide includes annotated links to selected electronic resources, such as online library catalogues, archival guides, digital collections, dictionaries and encyclopedias, databases, e-journals, and search engines.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT)

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT)

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses provides online access to dissertations in digital (PDF) format starting with titles published from 1997 forward plus any earlier dissertations converted to digital format. The database also provides access to citations on dissertations published in 1861-1996.

Electronic Catalog of Russian Dissertations (Russian State Library)

Electronic Catalog of Russian Dissertations (Russian State Library)

Electronic Library of Dissertations at Russian State Library is the largest digital repository of dissertations in Eastern Europe. Full-text access is subscription-based and currently limited to CIS countries, but the electronic catalog is fully open to the public.

Electronic Catalogue of Russian Dissertations

Electronic Catalogue of Russian Dissertations

Electronic catalogue provides lists of dissertations in many different fields. More detailed information on dissertations can be ordered online.

Electronic Theses Online Service (EthOS)

Electronic Theses Online Service (EthOS)

The electronic catalogue provides accesses to more than 250, 000 UK dissertations.

Theses Canada

Theses Canada

Theses Canada acquires and preserves a comprehensive collection of Canadian theses at Library and Archives Canada and provides access to the collection within Canada and throughout the world. The database provides access to many dissertation in Slavic and East European Studies.

Ukrainian Dissertations

Ukrainian Dissertations

This resource provides full access to abstracts since about 1997.

DART-Europe

DART-Europe

The European Portal provides access to electronic theses and dissertations. DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. All materials are resourced through partner contributions.

DisserCat

DisserCat

An online library of over 750,000 complete scholarly dissertations. The resource includes nearly 410,000 dissertations and approximately 340,000 synopses. The collection reflects contemporary research and development of the Russian Federation. The majority of the research works include title, introduction, and biography. All dissertations and synopses can be ordered online for a fee.

Lithuanian Electronic Theses & Dissertations

Lithuanian Electronic Theses & Dissertations

Electronic Documents of Lithuanian Master’s Students, Doctoral Dissertations, and their summaries. The database is maintained and developed as a Lithuanian Science and Study Integrated Information Environment Development task of the Lithuanian Virtual University (LVU) program.

DissOnline

DissOnline

Electronic university publications held by the German National Library, including dissertations and "Habilitationen". This is the largest national collection of online dissertations in Europe. Starting in 1998, it includes more than 120,000 online dissertations and post-doctoral theses.

The Database of Austrian Dissertations

The Database of Austrian Dissertations

The Austrian Dissertation Database (Österreichische Dissertationsdatenbank) contains dissertations from Austrian universities and colleges. Works included are full texts of university publications with abstracts.

Index to Theses

Index to Theses

A comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland since 1716. 589,028 theses are included in the collection (355,862 of which have abstracts), along with fifty thousand links to full texts.

Ukrainian Dissertations

Dissertation Catalogue of National Library

The National Library provides an access to the abstracts of dissertations written in Ukraine from 1990s to nowadays. The search engine works in Ukrainian only.

Abstracts of Ukrainian Dissertations

This database contains abstracts of Ukrainian dissertations on a variety of subjects that were written in 2000s.