Skip to main content

Slavic and East European Resources

This guide includes annotated links to selected electronic resources, such as online library catalogues, archival guides, digital collections, dictionaries and encyclopedias, databases, e-journals, and search engines.

Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts is a major database for world history. The database provides access to 2,000 journals, articles in books, dissertations, and citations to books. The database indexes many Slavic history journals like Kwartalnik Historyczny, Slavic Review, Voprosy Istorii, and Ukrains’kyi istorychnyi zhurnal. The database provides access to publication in more than 50 languages. The electronic coverage begins from 1954.

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography

Modern Language Association International Bibliography contains bibliographic records on all areas of modern literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. The database provides access to over 4,400 journals and series. MLA consists of mostly English language publications, but selected publications in all Slavic languages are represented. The coverage begins from 1963+

Slavic Humanities Index

Slavic Humanities Index

The Slavic Humanities Index is a new bibliographic database in the field of Central, Eastern, and South-Eastern European Studies. This is a cover-to-cover indexing tool covering important scholarly and cultural periodicals in the humanities of the region. The database includes bibliographic citations of articles in history, philosophy, literature, linguistics, ethnology, theatre and film studies, as well as cultural, borderland, and regional studies, which allows cross-cultural and cross-discipline searches. The periodicals indexed in the database are published in Belarus, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Macedonia, Montenegro, Poland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Ukraine.

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies covers North American scholarship on Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union. ABSEES has been compiled since 1956 under the patronage of the American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies (AAASS). It contains bibliographical citations for books, journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications. The web edition coverage starts from 1990.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Arts & Humanities Citation Index provides access bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.

Social Sciences Abstracts

Social Science Abstracts

Social Science Abstracts is a comprehensive database in the field. The database consists of the most important English-language journals published in the US and elsewhere. Indexing 1983+, Abstracting 1984+

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is a major database in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and history and theory of political science. The database indexes over 1,600 mainly English-language journals. One of the major subjects of the database is Slavic and East European Studies. Electronic coverage begins from 1975.

JSTOR

JSTOR

A full-text database which contains 19 journals in the field, including Slavic and East European Journal (1957-2009), Slavic Review (1961-2013), The Slavonic and East European Review (1928-2013), and Russian Review (1941-2007).

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies

The Universal Database of Russian Newspapers provides comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia. Official sources (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Krasnaia zvezda, ITAR-TASS), independent media and partisan publications are all represented on this database, thus offering a wide array of opinions and perspectives. The database contains several English-language newspapers including the notable Moscow Times. The database includes over 60 daily and weekly newspapers.

Humanities Abstracts

Humanities Abstracts

Humanities Abstracts is a comprehensive source in this area of studies. The resource contains abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most important scholarly journals in the humanities. The database consists of articles, bibliographies, book reviews, interviews, obituaries and more. Indexing and abstracting 1984+

PAIS International

PAIS International

PAIS International is a major database for political science published by the Public Affairs Information Service. The database provides access the international literature in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Coverage includes more than 556,000 citations and abstracts from materials including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies.

Central and East European Online Library

Central and East European Online Library

C.E.E.O.L. is an online archive providing access to full text articles from about 1000 academic and cultural journals pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern Europe. The database covers scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences, as well as literary and cultural periodicals, providing an overview of the histories, cultures, societies, and politics of more than 20 countries. Particular strengths of coverage are articles in the disciplines of literature, linguistics, political science, history, Jewish studies, and sociology. Articles in the archive are published in a number of Slavic, Baltic, Finno-Ugric, and other European languages, with the highest percentage of articles published in English, Croatian, Serbian, Romanian, Bulgarian, Polish, Hungarian, Czech, and Slovak.

Russian Central Newspapers (UDB-COM)

Russian Central Newspapers (UDB-COM)

The Universal Database of Russian Newspapers provides comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments, and cultural events in Russia through over thirty active titles. Official sources (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Krasnaia zvezda, ITAR-TASS), independent media, and partisan publications are all represented in this database, thus offering a wide array of opinions and perspectives. Several English-language newspapers, including the notable Moscow Times, widely read by the international community in the Russian capital, constitute an important part of the database. The database also includes archives to over forty older newspapers.

Baltics, Belarus, Moldova, Ukraine (UDB-EUR)

Baltics, Belarus, Moldova, Ukraine (UDB-EUR)

The Universal Database of Baltic, Belarusian, Moldovan, and Ukrainian Newspapers comprise sources mostly in Russian, with some in English, Estonian, and Ukrainian covering issues of domestic and international importance. The database includes ten active newspapers, and ten archived publications.

Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC)

Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC)

The Universal Database of Central Asia and Caucasus includes thirteen active titles, mostly in Russian and English, covering news, data on state structures, politics, judicial systems, economics, and more from this region. AP-Blitz, an information agency, offers daily news from Tajikistan. Another important publication is The Times of Central Asia published in Kyrgyzstan. The database also provides access to journals published by the Center for Economic Research in Uzbekistan. Also included are archives to 17 older newspaper titles.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

Columbia International Affairs Online

This resource includes a wide range of scholarship in international affairs from 1991, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from non-governmental organizations, and proceedings from conferences.

Periodical Index Online

Periodical Index Online

A database of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, covering the span of more than 300 years. It enables researchers to quickly locate articles relevant to their particular field of study, and reduces what could involve years of study to a matter of minutes.

Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO)

Oxford Handbooks Online

This resource provides access to scholarly research reviews in 14 subject areas, containing in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their fields. The handbooks are divided into subject module collections. Collections are updated with new titles three times a year.

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)

International Medieval Bibliography

This database covers a wide variety of subjects from the period of 300-1500 in Europe, North Africa, and the Muslim World. It includes research on medieval history in archaeology, architecture, arts, canon law, classics, daily life, ecclesiastical history, folk studies, historiography, language, literature, military history, music, philosophy, political thought, religion, social history, and theology. Over 360,000 records in the database derive from articles published in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogues).

World News Connection

World News Connection

This resource offers access to translated transcriptions and summaries of radio and television broadcasts, newspaper articles, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports, representing nearly every country in the world.

Current Digest of the Russian Press

Current Digest of the Russian Press

Current Digest of the Russian Press (former the Current Digest of the (Post-)Soviet Press) was founded in 1949. Each week it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the journal’s publisher.

European Bibliography of Slavic and East European (EBSEES)

European Bibliography of Slavic and East European (EBSEES)

"This database contains the data of two former EBSEES databases, one for 1991-2000, the other for 2001-2006. The new unified database with about 85.500 titles has been developed by the Berlin State Library in cooperation with the Maison des Sciences de l´Homme, Paris. For the years 1975-1990 EBSEES is available in printed form only. Work on adding records to EBSEES ended in 2007, and no further editing will take place after December 2007. The end date for each country’s contribution varies."

Factiva

Factiva

Factiva is a global news and business information service that combines the content sets of Dow Jones Interactive and Reuters Business Briefing. In includes many important newspapers and digests from Central and Eastern Europe. Search can be limited by language.

ProQuest

ProQuest

ProQuest is a collection of specialized and multidisciplinary databases covering the arts, humanities, social sciences as well as current events. The database allows a researcher to search 63 databases simultaneously.

World Biographical Information System (WBIS) Online

World Biographical Information System (WBIS) Online

This is a comprehensive database of biographical profiles of people from all countries and regions worldwide from the 8th century BC to the 21st century. WBIS Online provides an index to 57 Biographical Archives containing short biographies on more than 6 million people. Biographical information is from printed reference works published from the 16th century to the present, and includes Baltic, Czech, Polish, Russian, South-East European, and Hungarian sources.