VIC150 : School and Society

UTL SUBJECT & RESEARCH GUIDES can provide subject-specific library resources to help you get started.

They include lists of REFERNCE SOURCES, ARTICLE DATABASES, and ways to search for BOOKS., for example:

Women's Studies

• Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories
  • search "Indigenist Feminism"
  • compare/contrast with "Nativism," "Indigenism," etc.

Aboriginal Studies

History Research - The Basics

Education

• Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education
  • Entries on: “ Social Justice, Education for;” and “Sociology of Education.”

• Oxford Bibliographies Online
  • See: Education – Social Justice:
    • Intro plus list of frameworks on Education and Social Justice, ie.:
      • Political Studies of Justice and Education
      • Sociological Studies of Justice and Education – overview plus annotated bibliography

Canada

Sociology

Check terms, facts, timelines, context, biographies, etc.

FIND some background information on your topic, concept, or framework

USE an online, general or subject-specific reference source

Oxford Reference Online

• includes: Oxford Companion to Canadian History

Cambridge Histories Online

Gale Virtual Reference Library

• you may or may not find sources of information on the exact combination of ideas and topics you are researching

• you may have to research them separately at first: reference sources are a good place to start
   
• you may have to adjust or realign your argument as your research progresses

• search the indexes of books for pages or chapters about your topic, idea, argument

• search the works cited and bibliographies of relevant sources

• search for other works by major authors in the field