Pharmacology Desktop Library

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Master key pharmacological concepts and practices with the most comprehensive, authoritative guide available  Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades.  Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, the guide covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. This edition has been extensively updated to provide expanded coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, and new drugs Delivers the knowledge and insight needed to excel in every facet of pharmacology!. Encompasses all aspects of medical pharmacology, including botanicals and over-the-counter drugs Major revisions of the chapters on immunopharmacology, antiseizure, antipsychotic, antidepressant, antidiabetic, anti-inflammatory, and antiviral drugs, prostaglandins, and central nervous system neurotransmitters New chapter on the increasingly relevant topic of cannabis pharmacology Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information Revised full-color illustrations provide more information about drug mechanisms and effects and help clarify important concepts Trade Name/Generic Name tables are provided at end of each chapter for easy reference when writing a chart order or prescription Includes descriptions of important new drugs released through May 2019 New and updated coverage of general concepts relating to recently discovered receptors, receptor mechanisms, and drug transporters

The #1 annually updated general medical text - enabling you to put the latest research into practice CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment is the most comprehensive, reliable, and timely reference available to answer common questions that arise in everyday clinical practice. Readers will find authoritative, evidence-based coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders along with a concise, yet thorough synopsis of diagnosis and treatment. Written in a clear, easy-to-read style, this trusted classic covers all aspects of outpatient and inpatient care, and also includes discussion of new developments and breakthroughs in medicine. Presented in full color, CMDT covers every aspect of general medicine, with an emphasis on prevention and cost-effective strategies. * The only text with an annual review of the advances made in HIV treatment * Detailed overview of other primary care topics, from gynecology, orthopedics and dermatology to ophthalmology, psychiatry, and neurology * Many decision-speeding diagnostic and treatment algorithms and tables * The perfect balance of clinical practice and research evidence to optimize patient care * New chapter on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Health

To be the best doctor you can be, you need the best information. For more than 90 years, what is now called Goldman-Cecil Medicine has been the authoritative source for internal medicine and the care of adult patients. Every chapter is written by acclaimed experts who, with the oversight of our editors, provide definitive, unbiased advice on the diagnosis and treatment of thousands of common and uncommon conditions, always guided by an understanding of the epidemiology and pathobiology, as well as the latest medical literature. But Goldman-Cecil Medicine is not just a textbook. Throughout the lifetime of each edition, periodic updates continually include the newest information from a wide range of journals. Furthermore, Goldman-Cecil Medicine is available for all users of ClinicalKey, Elsevier's full library of subspecialty textbooks that can be accessed by readers who may want even more in-depth information. More than 400 chapters authored by a veritable "Who's Who" of modern medicine A practical, templated organization with an emphasis on evidence-based references Thousands of algorithms, figures, and tables that make its information readily accessible Over 90 supplementary videos, heart sounds, and key references Available in print and on a variety of electronic devices Supplemented by over 1500 board-style questions and answers to help you prepare for certification and recertification examinations Continuously updated by Lee Goldman, MD Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A full-color manual derived from Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Goodman & Gilman's The Manual of Pharmacology and Therapeutics offers concise, authoritative coverage of class-specific and disease-specific drugs, organized primarily by organ/system. Derived from Goodman & Gilman's Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Twelfth Edition and further updated, this streamlined text focuses on the principles of medical pharmacology and drug therapy and delivers coverage of all major drug classes. More than a pocket drug guide, this powerful resource covers: General Principles Neuropharmacology Modulation of Cardiovascular, Pulmonary, and Renal Function Inflammation, Immunomodulation, and Hematopoiesis Hormones and Hormone Antagonists Drugs Affecting Gastrointestinal Function Chemotherapy of Microbial Diseases Chemotherapy of Neoplastic Diseases Special Systems Pharmacology, including Environmental Toxicology The text explains the physiology and pathophysiology of major organ systems and pathogens with respect to pharmacotherapy and the mechanisms of drug action. With a new full color design and numerous tables, charts, and illustrations that highlight, explain, and summarize important information, Goodman & Gilman's Manual of Pharmacology and Therapeutics is essential wherever knowledge of drug actions and interactions is required. Nursing, pharmacy, and medical students will find the Manual to be a concise and authoritative textbook.

A Pharmacology Primer: Techniques for More Effective and Strategic Drug Discovery, Sixth Edition features the latest research surrounding the application of pharmacology in drug discovery in an effort to equip readers with a deeper understanding of complex and rapid changes in this field. Written by well-respected pharmacologist, Terry P. Kenakin, this primer is an indispensable resource for anyone involved in drug discovery. This edition has been reorganized for better flow and clarity and includes material on new technologies for screening (virtual, DNA encoded libraires, fragment-based) and a major section on phenotypic (target agnostic) screening for new leads and determination of drug targets. With full color illustrations as well as new examples throughout, this book remains a top reference for all industry and academic scientists and students directly involved in drug discovery or pharmacologic research. New material includes a discussion of the determination of target engagement, including numerous new ways to demonstrate the physical interaction of molecules with drug targets and new drug candidates such a mRNA, gene therapy, antibodies and information on CRISPR and genomics.

Gain a complete understanding of drugs affecting patient care! Pharmacology and Therapeutics for Dentistry, 7th Edition describes how to evaluate a patient's health and optimize dental treatment by factoring in the drugs they take. It explores the basic principles of pharmacology, the ways that drugs affect the body, and the potential for adverse drug interactions. Developed by Frank Dowd, Barton Johnson, and Angelo Mariotti, with chapters from a team of expert contributors, this is the only book written by dental pharmacologists for the dental market. Whether you're concerned about the drugs a patient is already taking or the drugs you prescribe for treatment, this book helps you reduce risk and provide effective dental care. Concise, comprehensive coverage helps you provide safe and effective dental care, exploring the fundamentals of pharmacology and clearly explaining actions of specific drug groups on systems in the human body in addition to covering special topics such as pain control, fear and anxiety, and oral complications of cancer therapy.  An emphasis on the dental applications of pharmacology shows how to evaluate a patient's health and optimize dental treatment by factoring in any medications the patient may be taking. Practical appendices provide easy access to essential information, summarizing topics such as drug interactions in clinical dentistry, antiseptics and disinfectants, herbs, controlled substances, protein biopharmaceuticals, drugs used to treat glaucoma, and abbreviations. Clinical Rationale for and Significance of Prescription Writing chapter and two appendices on drug prescribing cover both the medications that a patient may already be taking and drugs that a dentist may prescribe for treatment. Nearly 50 expert contributors represent a diverse, authoritative panel of authors from many of the major dental schools. NEW! Reorganized content is more concise, more relevant, and more visual, with a stronger focus on what you need to know for clinical practice.  NEW! Case studies at the beginning of chapters and case discussions at the end help you connect pharmacologic concepts and principles with clinical practice. NEW summary tables and boxes provide quick reference to vital information, and include all-new tables on drug indications and mechanisms.  NEW! Full-color design and illustrations are added to this edition, enhancing realism and visual learning. NEW companion website provides references linked to PubMed. NEW! Bullet points list key information at the beginning of each chapter, highlighting need-to-know concepts.