Skip to Main Content

VIC115 : Imagined Power: Literature and Film

A guide provided by E. J. Pratt Library for VIC 115, as taught by Professor Jennifer Levine.

Research Guides - Quick Links

Library Guides provide lists of subject specific resources to help you get started with your research:

Reference Sources

Find terminology, timelines, context, biographies, maps, etc.

EXAMPLES of Reference Sources

GENERAL

Oxford English Dictionary Online

Oxford Reference Online
Contains: over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Cambridge Histories Online
Contains over 270 volumes of works published by Cambridge University Press since 1960.

Literature Resource Center
Includes biographies, bibliographies, critical essays, work overviews, author-related websites, and timeline events. Information is taken selectively from Thomson Gale’s three author databases: Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online.

 

SUBJECT SPECIFIC

Spain

Historical Dictionary of Spain  (DP12 .S59 2009 REF Pratt)

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture (DP233 . 5 E63 1999 REF Pratt; Online version)

 

Ancient Greece

Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece  (DF16 .E52 2006 REF Pratt)

Encyclopedia of Greece and Hellenic Tradition  (DF757 .E53 2000 REF Pratt)

SAMPLE BACKGROUND SEARCHES

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION ON:

  • Spanish Civil War to better understand the setting of Pan's Labyrinth
  • Homer and Greece to better understand The Iliad