Research guides: Indigenous Studies: Primary Sources

Text and Primary Source Databases

The following database include texts and other primary sources. See the Government and Law section for more documents.

To find further databases, go to the library home page. Click on Subjects A-Z, choose a subject area, and click on Go. Then click on the Texts tab.

Some collections are licensed for the University of Toronto community only. Use your UTORID to access them.

Canadiana Online This link opens in a new window
[Licensed.]
Early Encounters in North America (EENA) This link opens in a new window
[Licensed] Letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between the peoples of North America.
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
[Licensed]

Indigenous Peoples: North America
[Licensed] Includes collections on specific topics:
video...close...
Collections in this product (sources noted in parentheses) include:

The Alaska Indian Language Collection (Gonzaga University)
The Association on American Indian Archives (AAIA and Princeton University)
Citizenship Case Files of the U.S. Court in Indian Territory, 1896‐1897 (U.S. National Archives)
Great Nemaha Agency Collection, 1866‐1873 (Wichita State University)
The Indian School Journal (Chilocco Indian School)
The Javitch Collection (University of Alberta)
Letters Sent by the Indian Division of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior, 1849‐1903 (U.S. National Archives)
Moravian Mission among the Indians of North America (Moravian Archives)
The Pacific Northwest Tribes Missions Collection of the Oregon Province Archives of the Society of Jesus, 1853‐1960 (Gonzaga University)
Papers of Henry Rowe Schoolcraft (Library of Congress)
The Papers of the Society of American Indians, 1906‐1946 (Private Collection of John Larner)
Records of the Creek Factory of the Office of Indian Trade of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1795‐1821 (U.S. National Archives)
W. S. Prettyman Photograph Collection (Wichita State University)
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
[Licensed]
The Fur Trade in Canada and the North West Company
Hudson's Bay Company Archives
Library and Archives Canada: Aboriginal Peoples
Champlain Society Digital Collections
Metis National Council Historical Online Database
Red and Black Series / RG10
Major collection of historic Canadian materials. Some is digitized. The rest is available through inter-library loan. (Guide from Univesity of Lethbridge).
Northwest Resistance Digitization Project
Our Legacy
Native American Women Playwrights Archive
American West: Sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago
[Licensed]
ProQuest Indian Claims Insight [licensed]
The resource includes primary source documents that support U.S. treaty and land rights research from 1789-present as well as State/Territory& Nation and Tribe histories. Support resources include a libguide with detailed search strategies for the database and help searching for Indian claims more generally.
Frontier Life: borderlands, settlement & colonial encounters [licensed]
The primary source documents in this database help to understand existence and consequences on the various frontiers that arose from the movements of Europeans to Africa, Australasia and North America. Canadian content includes documents relating to the construction of the Alberta railway.
The American Indian Movement and Native American radicalism.
This database consists solely of transcriptions of FBI surveillance of Indigenous movements.
Smoke Signals Radio Show Archive (Dan and Mary Lou Smoke)
Smoke Signals is a First Nations radio program on CHRW, Western University’s campus radio station. Smoke Signals is still on the air today, and has been recognized by the National Community and Campus Radio Association as Canada’s longest-running Indigenous campus radio program.

Material Culture / Images

Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window

Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library

Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library
Books, manuscripts and other materials. Includes 600,000 volumes and 2500 linear metres of manuscript holdings.

Maps and GIS

Archives and Special Collections

Resources for Aboriginal Studies
Web site developed by University of Saskatchewan Libraries and the University of Saskatchewan Archives
Aboriginal Archives Guides
Aboriginal Heritage: Library and Archives of Canada
University of Toronto Archives and Records Management
Archives of the University of Toronto.
A. Rodney Bobiwash fonds
At University of Toronto Archives and Records Management.
Peter Jones Fonds

Research Guides

Indigenous Studies

Text and Primary Source Databases

Material Culture / Images

Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library

Maps and GIS

Archives and Special Collections

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us