Skip to Main Content

Public International Law

A guide to resources for public international law research, created by John Bolan, Bora Laskin Law Library

Domestic Application of International Law

International law, chiefly as interpreted and applied in Canada by Hugh M. Kindred, Phillip M. Saunders et al
Book’s website (http://www.emp.ca/intlaw7) at includes a searchable index of the entire text, links to treaties and cases mentioned in the text.
Using International Law in Canadian Courts by Gibran Van Ert

Diplomatic Documents

Documents on Canadian External Relations by Canada Dept. of External Affairs
The basic published record of the foreign policy of the Government of Canada.
Volume 12 (1946) - 27 (1960) available on Global Affairs Canada
Documents on Canadian foreign policy, 1917-1939 by Walter A. Riddell
Canadian foreign policy, 1945-2000 : major documents and speeches by Arthur E. Blanchette

Canadian Yearbook of International Law

Canadian yearbook of international law

Journal - Canadian Foreign Policy

Canadian foreign policy

Indexes and Bibliographies of Documentation of Canada's Foreign Relations

Bibliography of Works on Canadian Foreign Relations 1991-1995 by Jennifer McNenly & Andrew McGregor
Library also has volumes covering 1986-1990, 1981-1985, 1976-1980, 1971-1975 and 1945-1970

Bibliographic references for articles, theses, government publications and conference papers arranged by broad subject area. Topics include: defence, economic relations, foreign relations, foreign and international law. Includes a name and subject index. Material from the internet is excluded however! Continued by the Canadian foreign relations index (below).
Canadian Bibliography of International Law by Christian L. Wiktor

National Security Law

National security law : Canadian practice in international perspective by Craig Forcese
Focuses on the law and legal instruments governing the Canadian state’s response to events that jeopardize national security. Also available online