Skip to main content

Pharmacy eResources: Drug Properties

Encyclopedias

Knovel

  • Knovel provides leading science and engineering books and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service.You are able to search all of the ebooks in the Knovel database or by individual titles. You can also browse ebook titles under various subject areas such as Chemistry, Biochemistry, Pharmaceuticals, etc.

Physical and Chemical Properties

Reaxys

  • This database can be used to find references to reactions or properties of chemical compounds. It is comprised of three databases - Beilstein for organic compounds, Gmelin for inorganic compounds and complexes and Patent Chemistry for patent coverage from 1980 to the present.

Scifinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)

  • Read access procedures if this is your first time using Scifinder. You will need to register while on campus and then after that you can access this database from off campus.

MSDS plus CHEMINFO Search

  • From the Canadian Centre for Occupation Health and Safety.

RTECS (Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances)

  • From the Canadian Centre for Occupation Health and Safety.

Chemical Information Finder

  • A bibliography of texts for different categories of chemical and physical properties.

Best Research Resources for Chemistry

  • List of article databases available through University of Toronto Libraries.

 

Other URLs of interest:

DrugBank

  • The DrugBank database is a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.

NIST Chemistry WebBook

  • Up to forty-five thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics critically reviewed properties are available for over 40,000 compounds.

ChemBioFinder

  • Searching ChemBioFinder.com is free but registration is required.

ChemID Plus

NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards

TOXNET