Research guides: Black Canadian Studies: Home

Starting points

Oxford Bibliographies in African Studies
Authoritative guide providing concise treatment of large topics and a list of additional resources for further research
Oxford Bibliographies in African American Studies
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on key areas of African American Studies including culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics.
Africa Bibliography
The premier journal devoted to the study of African societies and culture

Articles

To find more article databases select Subjects A to Z on the library home page, and choose a discipline such as 'Sexual Diversity Studies,' or consult Popular Databases.

CPI.Q This link opens in a new window
Canadian academic journals and business magazines, with select full-text articles from 1983. Includes some French magazine titles.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to research providing a Canadian perspective on topics including agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, with select full-text access.
CBCA Education This link opens in a new window
Libris Canadiana This link opens in a new window

Books

Enter your keywords in the library catalogue search box below. If you want to perform a Boolean search or search across multiple fields, click on Advanced Search.

Canadian Websites

Black History in Canada
Immigration History of Black Canadians from Libraries and Archives Canada
Anti-Slavery Movement in Canada
Site by Library and Archives Canada on the Anti-slavery movement and the Black refugees who left the United States for Canada.
Black Canadian Studies.com
Website created by Professor Charmaine Nelson (McGill University) as both a resource for Black Canadian Studies and a space where they share their future research agendas and production.
Black Canadian Studies
Research Guide from Dalhousie University, Halifax.
Black Studies
Research guide from Toronto Metropolitan University with additional resources.
African Canadian Online
From the Centre for the Study of Black Cultures in Canada at York University. This site provides information on African Canadian artists and their work.
Black Studies Centre
Website of both historical and current information for research on African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.

Provincial Websites

Nova Scotia

African Nova Scotians in the Age of Slavery and Abolition
Virtual exhibit from the Nova Scotia Archives reflecting the African Nova Scotians experience between 1749 and 1834.
Africville Museum
The Birchtown Black Loyalists
Birchtown, Nova Scotia
Black Cultural Center for Nova Scotia
A museum and a library resource centre that focuses on the history and culture of African Nova Scotians.
Black Loyalist Heritage Centre & Society
Birchtown, Nova Scotia
Native Born, a Brief History of the Black Presence in Pictou County
A Brief History of the Black Presence in Pictou County, Nova Scotia and its connection to the larger history of Black Canadians in Nova Scotia
Remembering Black Loyalists, Black Communities in Nova Scotia
Exhibit by the Nova Scotia Museum

Alberta

Amber Valley: A Black Community
Exhibit by the University of Alberta
Black Settlers Come to Alberta (Alberta Online Encyclopedia)
Alberta, including Amber, Junkins/Wildwood communities and Obadiah Place.

British Columbia

British Columbia Black History Awarness Society

Quebec

Black Histories -- Tracing Ongoing Experiences, Contributions and Participation
Quebec.

Ontario

Black History in Ontario
This online exhibit by the Archives of Ontario details black history from the end of slavery to the post-war period. It includes many digitized primary sources such as documents, letters and photographs.
Ontario Black History Society Archives
Offers a range of a range of African-Canadian educational materials, special collections and resources.

News and Media

To find out if UTL subscribes to a particular newspaper, look up the title in the library catalogue. For more information on newspapers see: Newspapers: Current and Historical

Current Black Toronto Newspapers and Magazines

CBCA Reference & Current Events This link opens in a new window

Dawn: The Multicultural Newspaper
Toronto. Bi-weekly. Click on Ethnic Media, and then Community and Ethnic Newspapers for more details.
Share News
Toronto weekly. Click for more details.
The Ghanaian News
Toronto. Monthly. Click on Ethnic Media, and then Community and Ethnic Newspapers for more details.
Jamaica Gleaner Canada
Newspaper Web Site. Also publishes "Canada Extra" which is available in print at some stores.
TZTA
Newspaper Web site. Ethiopian.
Word: the Soul of Urban Culture
Ethnic and Community Newspapers list
Directory, to identify further papers.
Urbanology
Toronto. Cultural news. Web site.

Historical Newspaper Databases

African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window

Black Studies Centre Newspapers

Black Toronto Radio & Television

Each of the radio and television stations below have Black, African, or Creole cultural programming of some kind. These may be spoken word programmes focusing on news and current issues, music focused, or both. Names of programmes have been listed in some cases. Please check the stations programming schedule for complete and current information. Some stations broadcast their programming over the Internet. See the station's Web site for details.

Catch da Flava
From the Regent Park Focus Youth Media Arts Centre, Toronto.
CHIN Radio (Toronto and Ottawa)
Consult the schedules for the three stations. Includes programming for the following audiences: Caribbean, Haitian, Somali.
Cirv FM (Toronto)
Caribbean programming.
CIUT FM (Toronto)
Radio station from the University of Toronto. Includes a variety of both spoken word and musical programming relating to Black culture. The African Woman and Family; Babae (h) Mama; Club Ned; Island Breeze; Karibuni, etc.; Morning Ride; Reggae Riddims, etc.
CJRU (Toronto)
Radio station from Ryerson University, Toronto. Includes a variety of both spoken word and musical programming relating to Black culture.
TV OMNI Television (Ontario)
OMNI Ontario: OMNI 1: Admas; In The Black; Caribbean Vibrations
OMNI 2: Admas; Muuqaalka Soomaalida; Ondes Africaines (French); Planet Africa
Fetenet
News and updates in soca

Data and Statistics

Canadian Election Studies
Canadian Opinion Research Archive
Archived survey data collected by major commercial Canadian firms dating back to the 1970s.

Diversity of the Black population in Canada: An overview
Statistics Canada
A socioeconomic portrait of Canada's Black population
Statistics Canada
Insights on Canadian Society
Provides analysis based on a wide range of data sources on labour, income, education, social and demographic issues.

For additional help with Data and Statistics:

Map and Data Library website

Drop by the Map & Data Library on the 5th floor of Robarts Library

View hours

After hours? Send an email.

Research help

Ask Us! Service
Get one-on-one research help from a librarian in person, over the phone, or on chat.
Finding a book chapter
How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?
How do I choose good keywords?
How to troubleshoot problems getting the full text

Citation Help

Citation Management Tools Comparison Table Compares the major reference management tools available to U of T students
Excelsior OWL Citation Style Guides

Acknowledgements

Fall 2022 update: Samantha Zani, TALInt student

Research Guides

Black Canadian Studies

Ask Us