Skip to main content
Google Search

Journalism & New Media Resources @ UTSC

A guide to assist UTSC students in Journalism and New Media find resources needed to successfully complete their course work.

Journalism Word Cloud

Image Credit: Flickr User spotreporting
(https://www.flickr.com/photos/29792566@N08/4944526688)

Online Communications and Mass Media Subject Guide

For a listing of key databases and online encyclopedias relevant to studies in journalism and new media, check out the U of T Libraries' Communications and Mass Media Research Resources page.

 

Finding Articles:

In addition to databases, try searching through some subject specific eJournals:

 

Finding Newspapers:

Newspapers: Current and Historical -  A thorough guide to finding current and historical electronic newspapers, news web sites, and databases containing newspapers. This guide covers both Canadian and International news sources, and includes information about both electronic as well as print sources of information.

 

Finding Books:

Search the library catalogue to find books on any topic:

Find Data, Online Audio material, Online Images...

Data @ Map & Data Library (MDL)

Find statistics to research data (Census, government agencies, etc.)

Check out the MDL's Research Guides that deal with citing data, data visualization, and more.

 

Geospatial Data and Maps

The MDL's holdings include maps, aerial photos, atlases and books, GIS software, geospatial data, and more.

Audio/scores online collections

Explore the Music Library's online collections

Images collections

Support for faculty

Please contact me for a range of services offered by the library to support teaching and research. This includes:

  • tailored research guides for courses or programs ("LibGuides")
  • curriculum related instruction
  • course-customization of Blackboard “Library Resource” pages
  • research consultations
  • collection requests and suggestions