Skip to main content

Information Resources and your Professional Association

You're Graduating, Congratulations!

What access will you lose and when?

You will lose access to the resources that we subscribe to in the week that you convocate.

For example:

  • Article databases such as Ovid MEDLINE, Embase, CINAHL, Cochrane, PsycINFO, Web of Science and Scopus. PubMed is free but the links to the journal articles that we subscribe to will ask you for payment when you are not logged in as an U of T student.
  • Clinical tools like Lexicomp Online, Micromedex, Natural Standard, DynaMed Plus, UpToDate, Clinical Evidence, and RxTx. You can purchase individual subscriptions to most of these resources.
  • Ejournals: Many journals are now available open access or partially open access or open access for a certain year range. The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a good place to look for free content.
  • Ebooks: Some of the associations listed in this guide offer discounts on the purchase of books needed for your practice. Also check your access through your hospital library.

Are you a graduating student?

Many students ask us about access to the ejournals and databases after graduation. Unfortunately, the University of Toronto Libraries cannot provide you with the same resources that you had while a student here.

Here are some suggestions of where you might go for information during your professional career:

  • Hospital Library: If you will be working in a hospital, check out the library and its collection. Hospital libraries provide resources based on the needs of the staff that work there and the services provided by the institution.
  • Your Professional Association: Many associations provide online information resources as part of your membership benefits. Check out your association by clicking on the relevant tab above.
  • In person research at a university library. Here at the University of Toronto you can use a LIRA workstation (Library & Information Resources Account) to access the electronic resources in five libraries on campus. We recomend that you bring an USB flash drive to save your searches and pdfs of ejournal articles. Other libraries on campus and other university libraries will have similar arrangements.
  • Digital Library for Alumni (subscription fee): The collection includes the ProQuest Central suite of databases and Business Source Alumni Edition, a sub-set of Business Source Premier. Try these out before you graduate to see if the content is useful for your health science discipline or personal interests. You may find that many of the health science journals you want have an embargo and will be months or years behind the current publishing date.
  • Public Libraries in Ontario may provide access to databases relevant to your practice. Sign up for a membership at the library in the city where you live or work.
  • Free Resources: Look at some of the suggested Open Access Resources for ideas about how you can stay up to date in your practice. These resources will have varying degrees of openness. For example, the PubMed database is free to search and some journal articles that are found may also be free but many others will require that you pay for access.