Chemistry Resources at the UTM Library

• SciFinder Scholar  - Journal articles, patent records, chemical substances and reactions
• You must register individually using a computer on campus via the Scifinder Scholar registration page.
  • SciFinder registration page
  • Use your "utoronto.ca" e-mail address in order to complete the registration.
  • Online webinars and guides - use your Scifinder UN and PW to login 
• Reaxys (Beilstein/Gmelin) - Reactions and properties of organic and inorganic chemical compounds
  • Training materials 
• Web of Science - Major multidisciplinary database
  • Training materials
• Scopus - Major multidisciplinary database
  • Training materials 
• PubMed - biomedicine, biochemistry and life science database
• Science of Synthesis - comprehensive review of organic synthesis techniques
  • Users' Guide

• WolframAlpha - Computational Knowledge Engine (You have to try it, trust me!)
• NIST Chemistry WebBook - Thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data.
• BRENDA - Enzyme functional data.
• SDBS - Spectral database for organic compounds.
• RCSB PDB - Protein Databank containing biological macromolecular structures.
• NDB - Nucleic Acid Database of three-dimensional structural information.

• IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology (Gold Book)

• Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

• EROS - Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis

• Expand abbrev. to full journal titles

  • Journal abbreviations via UBC

  • CASSI list of journal abbreviations

• ChemDraw Professional 17  - A full chemical drawing package with 1H and 13C NMR and physical properties prediction (annual site licence)
  • ChemDraw and ChemBioDraw renewal instructions
    • renewals in November each year.
• MOLMOL - A molecular graphics program for display, analysis, and manipulation of 3D structures of biological macromolecules.
• Chem4Word - an add-on for Microsoft Word that makes it easier to include labels, formulas, and chemical images in documents.
• Chemistry Dictionary - free downloadable chemistry dictionary for Microsoft Word
• WebCSD - Web version of Cambridge Structural Database (crystallography)

• MestreNova NMR Processing software - A full NMR processing package - You'll need to download the license files before you can begin using the MNova software. UTSC users: Please contact Sarah Forbes at s.forbes@utoronto.ca to obtain access to the files or check for the files your course site in Quercus. All other U of T users, please contact Darcy Burns at the NMR Centre.

• Online Guide to ACS
• Quick Guide to ACS (pdf)
• The ACS style guide - Chpt 14 (pdf) - Explains how to cite references
• Citation management software options 
• Concordia's Quick ACS Guide (with Lab Manual examples)

• ACS Style (Book 2006), posted by the ACS.

   

Health and Safety​

• Materials Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
• Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET)

Chemical Properties

• CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
• Merck Index
• Yaws' Handbook of Properties of the Chemical Elements
• Purification of Laboratory Chemicals (7th Edition)

Search Engines

• Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
• Online NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards
• Knovel search - chemical and engineering properties
• Knovel Critical Tables
• DOSE - Dictionary of Substances and their Effects
• Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials (11th Edition)
• Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens

• Oxford chemistry primers - Chemistry topics explained (from the OUP website)The books in the renowned Oxford Chemistry Primers series provide accessible accounts of a range of essential topics in chemistry and chemical engineering. Written with students in mind, these books offer just the right level of detail for undergraduate study, and are invaluable as a source of material commonly presented in lectures. Cutting-edge examples and applications throughout the texts show the relevance of the chemistry being described to current research and industry. Additional learning features, including questions at the end of every chapter and online multiple-choice questions, encourage active learning and promote understanding. Diagrams, margin notes, further reading, and glossary definitions also help to enhance a student's understanding of these essential areas of chemistry.

• RSC Tutorial Chemistry Texts - RSC has a large number of books for many chemistry topics written in an easy tutorial style. U of T has many of these available online and in print.

• A Very Short Introduction - Chemistry series - Welcome to Very Short Introductions - Brilliant. Sharp. Inspiring. Now online. Discover a new topic or subject with these intelligent and serious introductions written by authors who are experts in their field. (from OUP website) Available online.

• Science & Engineering Journal Abbreviations (UBC)

• Biomedical Journal Abbreviations (Pubmed/NLM) Limit to "Journals Referenced in the NCBI Databases"